ARGH!!!

Spent the evening arguing, mostly with myself. It’s hard to have an argument with someone who refuses to admit that they don’t know what they are talking about.

It pertains to writing, as it was with another writer and we were discussing writing techniques.

He asked me to review some of his work on a private group. I did so. Honestly but respectfully. He then decided that he didn’t like what I said. Okay. That’s easy. Don’t ask me to review your work again then. I won’t give you my thoughts on it, objective as they are.

I said nothing that hadn’t been told to him by two or three other people independently. I didn’t even know what they’d told him until after he started arguing. Then I went back and checked. I always check. And double check. And even when I’m positive that I know what I’m talking about and doing something in the correct way, I still ask for help from other writers I trust.

But some people.

Writing is not easy. It takes time and effort to put the right words on the page at the right time in the right order to create a story that speaks to the reader. So I never understand other writers who don’t want to do that. Why spend time writing and creating a story if you’re not going to make it the best it can be?

I don’t know. Maybe I’m the goofball. Maybe I shouldn’t spend so much time worrying over things like passive voice and whether my character can read minds or see through walls. I think those things matter. They matter to me as a reader.

Anyway, I ended the evening with a big ol’ GRRRRRRR.

I hate arguing. It’s pointless really. Most often neither party walks away with anything new, other than a headache, or resolved, other than the determination to show that they were right. I’d rather just ignore the whole thing.

But durn it all. This guy asked for my help.

If you’re going to ask for help, be prepared to accept the help you’re given and at least consider it for more than 2 minutes before you reject it. Otherwise, what is the point in wasting their time?

One thought on “ARGH!!!

Leave a Reply

