Can Someone Please Turn Me Off Now????

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. Spring always does this to me but despite knowing that it’s coming, planning for it, recalling last year’s non-stop days and nights, nothing I do ever prepares me for it’s onslaught.

I get up with the sun. I go to bed …

Who am I kidding? I rarely go to bed. I may have my head on the pillow but I’m not sleeping or resting even.

Why? Because my brain never shuts off.

My grandmother had the same problem. She swore that if someone ever invented an off switch for humans, she’d be the first one in line to buy one. I’d be second.

It’s not that I dislike having an active schedule. That part I enjoy. It’s all the moments between the active where I’m waiting or traveling from one point to another or twiddling my thumbs because someone else isn’t quite ready to go yet that drive me bonkers.

And the sheer lack of time to just sit down and do nothing and not have to go anywhere in half an hour or two hours or whatever.

Today I left my house at 5:30 am and arrived back home at 11:10 pm. And in between those two times I drove 5 1/2 hours, sat in the car waiting on someone 2 1/2 hours, interacted directly with 12 people, ate in three different restaurants with snacks from a convenience store, grocery shopped at a big box store, took my son shopping, bought a book, checked on my dad’s garden, talked to my mom about our land surveys, used the restroom 6 times, wrote an article for a blogging newsletter, posted four photos to social media, was attacked by a ketchup bottle, stepped in cat vomit, and finally ate supper at 9:45 pm.

I am exhausted … but so keyed up I can’t sleep.

Ironic isn’t it.

My yawns have yawns but as soon as I lay down my head, my eyes pop open and my mind races to write the perfect pitch, to finish the last short story, to outline the next novel chapter, to polish the current edit.

STOP!!! brain, STOP!!!!

Leave a Reply

