Weekend Writing Warriors 11/15/2015

The Blurb

Pinkerton Detective Frank Garloch is called to investigate the brutal murder of a woman outside Chicago. Tracking the husband across three states, keeps Frank from spending time with his daughter Sadie and makes him face the realities of his own marriage and past failings. THE DEAD WIFE is a dark noir suspense based on true events.

The Lines

Frank was perched in a chair in front of the fire with a plate of beans and a cup of black coffee. Three stitches graced his chin. Two dried blood stains soaked through his shirt sleeve. “Glad you could join us.”

“What the hell happened?”

“I fixed you up.”

Burnett stared, staggered to his feet. “Not what I mean. What did I miss?”

Frank dropped his plate on the floor and stood up. “That’s what you’re worried about? You nearly bled to death you fool and you want to know what you missed? Well, Henry’s dead. Put a bullet through his eye. The Mrs. died about an hour ago so we’re left with these two to haul back to Chicago. I’d say the odds are in our favor.”

Glad you all stopped by to read! Be sure to check out all the other fabulous writers on Weekend Writing Warriors

11 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors 11/15/2015

  1. Wow, great job painting the scene! I love the dialogue. Deep third really immerses the reader–and you do it well. 🙂

    Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors. We’re glad to have you.

    I’m a moderator for the site,and I see that you’ve gone over the allowed number of sentences. To be fair to all participants, we delete links off of our linky list for posts that go over ten sentences. (The very short rule list is on our sign-up page at wewriwa.com) Since you’re new to wewriwa–and might not know that, I won’t remove your link this week. I’d like for other participants to find your post and have an opportunity to read your work! 🙂
    Hope to see you again next week. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comments. I’m confused though. I only count 8 lines in my quoted writing. Are you counting blank spaces between the lines too? If so, that’s a formatting issue I can fix otherwise I have no idea how I’m supposed to count lines … help?

Leave a Reply

