New Tunes and New Headphones

                                  12316236_10208040795327189_2837314126293444784_n

For five years I spent my life in an architecture studio, creating buildings, structures, feats of engineering that were both fantastical and sometimes plausible, drawing in every form possibly, building models, presenting work, creating. Those days were intense and long and often sleepless. We called it “architorture” … loved and hated in equal measure.

It was a creative hothouse like I’ve never found since and, yet, longed for with every breath I take.

Music was integral to our creative endeavors. Everyone had headphones, everyone lived in their music bubbles for stretches of time to block out other distractions. And we all exchanged music from time to time too.

As a writer, music is different to my creative work now. Some days it’s hard to write words when I’m listening to words being sung. But I need that bubble to keep pushing on and moving forward ….

So, I’ve adapted. I binge listen to the same song over and over and over. It creates a mood, keeps me focused, blocks out distractions. This week has been “Riser” by Dierks Bentley. Other times it’s something from Pentatonix or a piece of classical guitar in equal measure with blues and jazz. And in the rare moments I’ll even pull out something harder.

This week I bought new headphones too. Although I want some wireless, noise blocking ones, I can’t afford them so I found a decent pair on sale. They are the old style that go over the ears instead of ear buds, which I hate. And best of all, they’re red … because me and red have a thing. Always have.

Why write about this now? Because … although I love spending time with my family and friends, after holidays like Thanksgiving and days filled with people and people and more people, I really have to fold up inside my shell and not talk to anyone, refocus. Music and headphones help me do that.

So, what kind of music do you play in your bubble? 🙂

8 thoughts on “New Tunes and New Headphones

  1. Love this post coz I can SO relate to what you’re saying – the creativity, the sense that sometimes music is distracting and at other times focussing – and what space I’m in at the time determines the music I choose. And the replaying music over and over. And that sense of being ‘peopled-out’ and needing space to recharge & refocus. Thank you. Really appreciate that sense of connection, that sense of “I’m not the only one” …so thanks 🙂

  2. I get you. Not my current m.o., but it has been in the past. Always used to pick an album that had the right vibe for what I was writing (funny, romantic, mysterious), and set it to repeat endlessly. Now? I’m Mr. Quiet.

    • Most days I’m quiet too but when I need help focusing out comes the music. It’s either that or social media … and playing on social media is kind of like playing Russian roulette these days for me. I’m trying to stay off as much as possible.

  3. I live in a shuffle bubble.. and my music library spans for miles.. i like shuffle bubble, you sit there and try and guess whats next!.. I’ve failed to win that but it will, one day… maybe. Music helps with my writing also but can get confusing.

    • 🙂 I get the shuffle bubble. My problem with it is that I then want to know what the song is and have to stop and look it up … not very conducive to writing long sprints. lol. But that’s me …

Leave a Reply

