Day Three – 25 days of compassion

I’m ugly and fat and have a very low self-image issue. As a matter of fact I’m extremely embarrassed about my appearance which keeps me hiding at my house most of the time. So any time someone tells me I’m pretty or beautiful, my heart skips a beat and tears fill up my eyes because I’m so convinced that I’m not at all, I wonder what they see that I can’t.

I joined a writer’s group about six weeks ago now and I adore the people in it. They are a mix of women and men, older, younger, married, not married, intellectual, compassionate, passionate, quirky people. They make me smile just being in the room with them. So this week one of them asked me for my email addy and I gave it to him and then he asked if he could take a photo of me.

I said sure because I didn’t mind him having one and he wanted it for account purposes but I’m super conscientious about having my pic taken so I smiled, let him take the photo, and then started to retreat into myself. But he pulled up the pic, smiled broadly at it, showed it to me, and said, “You’re so beautiful.” It made me cry and it made me happy all rolled into one. Thank you J for your compassionate soul.

 

2 thoughts on “Day Three – 25 days of compassion

  1. I love this post, Erin. Really, I love the entire series you’re doing on compassion. It’s such a wonderful idea and very inspiring to me. I think it helps us so much when we are mindful about the needs of others. And I think that practicing compassion for ourselves, as you mentioned in a different post, is important too. I’ve found it so much easier to extend kindness to others than to be kind to myself. This particular day’s post reminds me of that. You are definitely a beautiful person! And I am so glad to have met you by volunteering with you at OWFI this year. You made volunteering easy! That’s a gift, believe me, and I appreciate it. It’s probably not something you see in yourself but you’d notice it in someone else. Just like you wouldn’t expect someone to see you as beautiful, but you’d be the first to tell someone else how lovely their photos look. Isn’t that funny? We are all harder on ourselves than we need to be. I love this story especially because your writer friend was thoughtful enough to share his joy over your photo, so that you could feel the joy as well. That’s something magical about compassion and friendship. Thank you for being bold enough to share this story with us. It’s powerful.

    • Thank you Michelle! Your words are much appreciated and made me cry. You were such a joy to work with at OWFI last year. I’m glad you had a good experience with me “in charge”. What you say is true … it is easier to see how beautiful others are than to see it in ourselves. That’s why we need friends and other compassionate souls to remind us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

