Day Thirteen – 25 days of compassion

*another repost of a previous blog of mine … seems I’ve been trying out this compassion thing a long time*

One of the first posts I read on social media this morning was spurring me on to become an activist, to spread the word about the matters of the world, to use my voice to educate others about “causes”.

Well … no.

It’s not that I don’t think people need to know about certain things in our world or that there’s anything wrong with speaking your mind about them. But, I don’t want to be an activist.

I want to be active.

I don’t want to spend all my time talking about compassion and passion or the things I’m passionate about …

I want to be compassionate.

It’s amazing to me how ready people are to take up signs and form a rally and post things on social media about great causes in our world or even small causes in our world … or sometimes even pointless causes in their world … and yet what are they accomplishing?

If you spend all day sitting on the steps of the capitol building or perfecting a blog post and social media storm, what have you done to change the situation?

Isn’t the saying Be The Change You Wish To See ?

It’s like Christians who faithfully go to church every time the doors open and talk about the poor sinners in the world but never make friends with them.

Or the republicans who scream about how families should take care of their own instead of the government … but won’t go see their poor cousin in the trailer park whose kids didn’t eat supper last night let alone give them money to help them out.

Or the non-GMO activist who hangs up his sign for the day and goes out to eat fast food.

What is the point of promoting and pushing and fighting for a cause, if you’re not living the solution in the first place?

It doesn’t take another blog about feeding the hungry to solve world hunger. It takes you and me building a community garden, planting apple trees in the park instead of more daffodils, turning our yards into edible landscapes instead of mowing three times a week.

It doesn’t take another church program, another youth group activity, another church building to bring people to Christ. It takes showing compassion to one person, listening to them, helping them, being their friend.

I don’t want to be an activist. I want to passionately pursue the things I love and show compassion to those I know.

There’s a difference between talking and doing. A fine line that divides the two.

Don’t just walk the edge.

Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate.

Leave a Reply

