Day Twenty-three – 25 days of compassion

A little behind again … but it’s hard to post about compassion when I’m not feeling particularly compassionate.

I think it’s the nightmares haunting me. I wake up shivering, sweat soaking the sheets, my heart pumping like an Indy-500 race car. Someone told me one time that all I had to do was turn over and they would go away … but it’s never worked for me. They just start over and I have to  relive the whole thing.

And then there’s the whole social media gig littered with hate and bashing and demonizing thoughts posted willy-nilly.

Which is actually why I started this whole compassion thing in the first place. Day after day of reading  negative stuff about everything bad in this world left me with bitterness and rage that wasn’t even my own. I can’t help it. I pick up on the “feels” of others. Always have. Probably always will. That’s why I learned to hide, to “go away”, to fade-to-black.

Personally I don’t think people realize what they are doing when they focus on all the negative crap out there and post it for everyone to see and then argue with all of the comments coming their way.

We all have a choice in life. Every day. We can choose to see what’s good in others, or we can choose to see what’s bad. We can choose to bash everything we hate or promote everything we love. The thing is whatever you choose to give your time to is how the world will be. If you focus on what you hate, on what is wrong, on all the mistakes, you don’t have time to find what you love.

One of the first blog posts I ever wrote on this blog was about this very thing. It became my “tag” line and it’s my compassion for the day.

Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate and the world will be a better place … not only for you but for everyone around you.

One thought on “Day Twenty-three – 25 days of compassion

Leave a Reply

