Like the Wind – poetry

I miss you, damn it,

like the wind misses the trees.

I talk, I write, I want, I need

but the words blow hard and fast

upon the walls of this canyon, crashing

not just once against the citadel

but also against the unrelenting

silence of my pain.

It’s my fault, I know,

for letting you use me

for allowing you to suck me in

for playing the game

but I never dreamed

you could be like a hurricane

blowing steadily for days

and then dying away

forever.

I miss you, damn it,

like the wind misses the trees

fluttering among the leaves

nudging the branches

dancing to the same tune

changing each other

helping each other.

I miss you, damn it.

I miss you.

 

Leave a Reply

