When I’m No Longer Here

Will you cry, when I’m no longer here,

when you walk down the beach

and find a new seashell with angel wings

like we found that day last year?

Will you be angry, when I’m no longer here,

when I don’t answer your questions

and share my thoughts about our life

like we did that night under the stars?

Will you pretend, when I’m no longer here,

when your nights are empty

and filled with the silence

of your own thoughts

as if I still cared?

Will you notice, when I’m no longer here,

when another warm body fills the chair

I vacate and wants nothing

but to be accepted and one of the gang?

Will it matter, when I’m no longer here,

when I don’t cook another meal

or write another word

or share another joke

or create another fragment of art?

Will anyone know, when I’m no longer here,

when all their needs are met

and their conversations continue uninterrupted

and the projects remain

undone?

When I’m no longer here, will you care at all

that I used to be

or

that I cared

for you?

When I’m no longer …

 

Leave a Reply

