Is There Anything You Can’t Do?

Quick! Give me an answer!!

I’ve been asked this question more times than I can count over my life time, and I never know what to answer. I’m not even sure it deserves an answer. But It’s had me thinking a lot lately, so here’s my list of stuff I can’t do:

  1. Keep my cat from curling up on my keyboard especially if I’m in the middle of typing something important. My husband says “Just push him off and tell him no.” I roll my eyes. He’s a cat, not a dog. He doesn’t take orders.
  2. Play the tuba. That seems pretty self-explanatory but I might as well add there are other musical instruments I don’t play, of course that’s mainly because I’ve never tried.
  3. Understand why people ask me questions like this. Honestly, I don’t know. Are you complementing me? Are you being derisive? Is this sarcasm? Is it envy? Probably the nicest way anyone has said this to me is by saying “When the apocalypse hits, I want you on my team.” That made me laugh. Others have referred to me as MacGyver, from the old TV show. All I know is there must be some truth behind the comment/question because I’ve been getting asked this question most of my life.
  4. Change another person’s mind. I’m good with this. I don’t want to change anyone’s mind. I kind of like that the world isn’t one big monotonous ooze who all thinks alike. Besides, it’s none of my business what anyone else thinks about anything or believes. The only mind I can change is my own and that’s hard enough work for me.
  5. Quit being sensitive. I’m good with this too, usually. Some days it would be far easier to not give a damn about anyone else, to not care if they were hurting or needed help, to walk on by. But I can’t even walk in a room with people who are hurting and not know it. I suck it in like a sponge. The hardest times are those when I can’t do anything to help. Then I just go home and cry alone. All those times someone has told you someone out there is thinking of you … I’m here to tell you there really is.
  6. Sit still and not do something. Meditation and me are not friends. My mind does not stop. I have no off-switch. Which is probably one of the reasons why I know how to do so many things … because I do them. I keep busy. I’m never happier than when I have ten things to get done yesterday.
  7. Fix anyone else. I have enough flaws of my own to fix, if they need fixed. I neither have the time nor the energy to fix anyone else … even if their flaws were my business. The reality here is that while I may not like some of the things other people do to me or to others that I know, while I may not agree with their life choices, their behavior is no better nor worse than my own. As I’ve said many many times, human beings are flawed creatures who must be forgiven many time over. Compassion, folks. That’s all it is.
  8. Create a meal from a set of random ingredients in a basket in 20 mins. I could possibly do it without a time limit. Those people that can do this, amaze me. Really. Could one of you come and cook me breakfast every morning? That would be great. Kk. Thanks.
  9. Fit in to a group. I’ve never belonged anywhere and at this point in my life I’m pretty sure I never will. It’s not that I don’t want to belong. I do. But …  Group dynamics boggle my  mind. I can’t figure them out so I can’t conform. The only group I’ll ever belong to is the one that holds on to me, because I have no idea how to hold on to them. I was asked one time if I could have any fictional character as a friend, who would it be? My answer – Dr. Watson because he knows everything bad there is to know about Sherlock and he still shows up every single time.
  10. Quit learning. Don’t want to anyway. But honestly, that is the reason I know how to do so many different things. I have an insatiable need to learn how things work and how to do things I’ve never done before. I want to understand, so I go and I do.

If my parents gave me a gift in this life, it is this: They always told me I could do anything I set my mind to do, anything I wanted to do. And I believed them. I can.

And so can you. Just do it. It’s that simple.

Leave a Reply

