I Hope You Understand

I hope you understand.

The question

drained my knowledge

so completely

that I had no words

remaining

that carried any intelligible

meaning that I could

offer in response.

I hope you understand.

My silence is never

an answer

an apathy

but rather

an unending question

for which I have

no words

no hope

of ever asking.

I hope you understand.

I feel lost

sitting in the midst

of my cat and my books

and my life,

my choices don’t even

knock on the door,

asking to come in.

I hope you understand.

If I could be with you,

away from the charred remains

on the fire

where the dust

has settled with voids

left by angels

and demons alike,

I would love you

more perfectly than anyone else.

I hope you understand.

 

Leave a Reply

