Nothing

I have nothing

but the deepest respect

for your opinion

about your life

and nothing

but fear

for your opinion

on my life

because

you are not

me

and what works for you

is not a cure

for what ails

me.

To taste the powders

you offer

swallow the pill whole

say the spell

wag my tail

and turn around three times

in a clockwise manner

makes as much sense

as if I slept with your wife

because she’s good for you, too.

This is why

friends don’t tell

private things

but rather keep them hidden

in the bushes beside the front door

or under the cushions on the sofa

away from prying eyes

and

mythological cures.

I have nothing.

I am nothing.

 

2 thoughts on “Nothing

Leave a Reply

