Rhythm

Words

Conversation

started so slow

and built over time

til a continuous flow

filled my dreams

smothered my thoughts

ended all in a horrible row

tears

and fears

and the desire for more

the knowledge of love

a soul at its core

I needed and wanted

too much to see

the rip that I tore

but now

now

a chance to heal

a move, slow and steady

with too much to feel

there’s a rhythm

a dance

to mend the cracked seal

But I’ll dance it again

any number of times

like a jukebox plugged

with thousands of dimes

I’ll wiggle and giggle

and smile and laugh

I promise this time

to roll with the gaff

I’ll make mistakes

you’ll make them too

but I’ve danced it alone

and I’d rather have you.

Leave a Reply

