A Little Sumthin

If you

arrived at my door

carrying the largest bouquet

of flowers

that I had ever seen

and proposed to keep me happy

and cared for

the remainder of my days,

I would kiss you,

warmly,

and shut the door.

But if you

watched me eating

dinner at my favorite restaurant

or joined in the same tour group

at a Basilica while I was on vacation

or waited patiently

in the lobby of every hotel

I visited over the course of a year

never speaking to me

or doing more

than pushing an elevator button,

I’d keep you

forever

once fate intervened.

Leave a Reply

